top of page
  • Dr, Mike Murphy

THE STAR(PART TWO).....A Star Coming Out of Jacob





As Opis joined Rufus on the steps of the market palace the following day, you could see the anxiety in the eyes of Rufus, as he longed to hear more of this story. Before Opis could even sit down, Rufus was already asking questions, and longing to hear more.

Opis slowly spoke, “Give me a second to get my breath, my son, Let me see, I believe we were about to begin the journey as we last spoke. Even though it happened so many years ago, I can so vividly remember that as our journey began, watching Balthazar looking up into the sky. He would stare at the sky and smile, and I could not figure out for the life of me what he was looking at. After seeing him do this a few times, I asked. ‘Master, what is it that you see?’ He replied back to me, “Do you not see the brightness of it, my son? The light that shines in the midst of the sky that will guide us each step of the way.’”

With a short breath, Opis continued. “He then spoke words to me that so greatly confused me. ‘I see him, but not now; I behold him, but not near; a star shall come forth from Jacob, a scepter shall rise from Israel.’”

On hearing these words, Rufus suddenly broke in. “Ahhh, the famous star, the one that brother Matthew spoke of(Matthew 2:2)!” As Opis heard these words, he again began to speak. “I never heard the three of them ever refer to it as “the star”, but only as His star. Although at that time, I had no clue as to why. It was only years later that I found out that the words that Balthazar quoted me that day was from the Book of Numbers(Numbers 24:17). All I knew was that he was describing something in the sky that I simply could not see. That only Balthazar, Gaspar, Melchior, and a few others could. One that left most of us looking at the sky and remaining bewildered as we looked at it. But Balthazar's words that night were clear, we would go wherever His star would lead, and where it would take us, was exactly where we were meant to be.”

As Opis continued to speak, he again focused on their journey. “Although they did not know the exact location His star would lead us to, they knew that Jerusalem would be a starting point. So we set out on the long treacherous trip that would take us sixty-two days to make. I must admit, I wondered often why we were taking each of these steps. And with all the powerful kingdoms of this world, I was perplexed as to why this God above all gods would choose Jerusalem to take His throne? But with each question, Balthazar was patient to help me to see the answers. He explained to me where this promise had started, with a man named Abraham, who had also been called by God to make the same journey we were now making. He quoted to me the words the Lord first spoke to Abraham, ‘Go forth from your country, and from your relatives and from your father’s house, to the land which I will show you; And I will make you a great nation, and I will bless you, and make your name great; and so you shall be a blessing; And I will bless those who bless you, and the one who curses you I will curse. And in you all the families of the earth will be blessed.’(Genesis 12:1-3) He went on to tell me, ‘My son, Abraham was a key part in the Lord’s plan of redemption, one that would come to bless all in this world(Galatians 3:8(. One that would lead to the King that has now been born.’”

Opis continued, “Balthazar then told me a story about Abraham that I also did not fully understand, but one that something inside of me told me to hold on tight to. He spoke of Abraham, and his son, Isaac, telling again of the words God spoke to him. ‘Take now your son, your only son, whom you love, Isaac, and go to the land of Moriah, and offer him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains of which I will tell you.’(Genesis 22:2). Balthazar went on to tell me that all that had been promised to Abraham, the Lord had said, would come through Isaac(Genesis 22:12).”

Opis looked staringly at Rufus as he said, “I was so confused to hear these words, thinking out loud, how could God ask this of Abraham? Did He not love him? In Balthazar’s answer, my confusion grew even more. ‘It was because of that love that the Lord spoke these words to Abraham, my son. As Abraham brought Isaac to Mount Moriah, Isaac could be heard asking his father where the animal was that they would sacrifice, as an offering to the Lord? Abraham answered him by saying, ‘God will provide for Himself the lamb for the burnt offering, my son.’(Genesis 22:8) And as they arrived at the mountain, God did provide that sacrifice. That day Opis, in the Lord testing Abraham’s faith, He also gave Abraham a glimpse of His undeniable love. As the Lord knew He would one day do for this world what He had not required of Abraham to do. The Lord would sacrifice His only Son so this world might be forgiven, and be made redeemed.’”

Opis looked at Rufus, fighting back the tears as they formed in his eyes. “I did not understand those words, but something within me knew the importance of those words, and I knew there was absolute truth in the words that Balthazar was speaking. If those words had confused me, what he said next confused me even more. Balthazar put his arm around me and told me, ‘Opis, we now make our way toward Mount Moriah(Jerusalem), to honor Jehovah-Jireh, the “God who will provide”. And as we make our way there, His star will show us to His Lamb that He has now provided for this world, so that all mankind might be redeemed. It is that Lamb that we make this journey to worship.’’

On hearing this, Rufus was unable to speak, unable to find the words he wanted to say to Opis next. But as the silence surrounded them, Opis again began to speak. “I grow tired, young man. But if you would like to hear more, I will gladly join you on this step again tomorrow.”

Still unable to form a word, Rufus nodded his head with a resounding “yes”! And as Opis made his way from those steps, Rufus continued to sit, as the silence of the moment continued to speak volumes to him.

I hope and pray you will join us again, as Opis and Rufus next meet on these stairs.


336 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Die Kommentarfunktion wurde abgeschaltet.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page