top of page
  • Dr, Mike Murphy

THE STAR(PART SIX)....The Journey Had Just Begun




As Opis made his way back to the steps in order to finish his story, he saw Rufus there early, waiting on him. As Opis found his seat, Rufus began to speak. “I must admit, I was awake most of this night in anticipation to hear all you would tell me today. What was that trip back to Parthia like? And what did you tell everyone as you got there?”

On hearing these words, Opis smiled. “My son, I am the absolute wrong man for you to ask these questions of! As we made our way out of Bethlehem, Balthazar again put his arm around me, and started speaking to me. ‘I cannot tell you Opis the joy it has brought to me to have you on this journey with me! And I only have to look into your eyes to see the difference He has now made in your life. I guess this is where we say our goodbyes, as I know the purpose and plans He has for you will be just as amazing as this journey has been. I will miss you, and Parthia will not be the same without you!”

Wait!”, you could hear Rufus suddenly shout. “You did not go back with them to Parthia? Why? What am I missing?”

With only a slight hesitation Opis began to speak again. “These eyes have never again seen Parthia, my son. The Lord God had an even greater image in mind for my eyes to see, and it was not until Balthazar spoke those words to me, that I realized that Parthia would no longer be my home.”

“Where did you go, what did you do?”, were the only words Rufus could think to speak.

“I stayed in Bethlehem that day, and for the next few days. I went the next day to revisit the Child, but only to find that the family had gone. Within hours I soon learned why, as I saw the cruelty of Herod that Balthazar had warned me of. As night fell, I could hear the screams and the desperate moans, as soldiers made their way into the town, killing all the young males in the village(Matthew 2:13-18). The pride and vanity of Herod was so great, there was no room in his heart for a Messiah, so he did all he could to kill Israel’s future King. As I did all I could to help those families that were in such great pain, I was told that Joseph and his family had left the night before. And as I learned more, I soon discovered that they were actually from Galilee, from the town of Nazareth.”

Opis then continued. “After spending months rediscovering my roots in Jerusalem, I made my way north to the town of Nazareth. It was a small, quaint town that for some reason welcomed me as an outsider. And with Rome housing its garrison not far away, my father’s skills of tentmaking soon served me well, and provided me with a good living. Not long after I settled into Nazareth, I saw a familiar face once again, as the mother of the Child, Mary, somehow remembered me, and quickly smiled at me(Matthew 2:19-23). I would become close friends with the family, often sharing meals, and even playing and watching Jesus and His brothers and sister for them at times.”

In amazement, Rufus continued to listen. “I was with them as they once made their way back to Jerusalem during the Feast days. There to help them look for Jesus, as this twelve year old boy, was suddenly lost. I stood with them at the Temple as they found Him, and listened in shock as He asked them where else they thought He would be than at His Father’s house?(Luke 2:41-52). I was there as the family grew, and there as His earthly father, my friend Joseph, passed. I was there, behind the scenes, at the wedding celebration, as He turned the water into the sweetest of wine(John 2:1-11). I was there, on the mountain side, as He gave the Sermon on the Mount(Matthew 5-7), speaking words of such truth and beauty that have become known as the Beatitudes. I was there, but a speck in the crowd, as He fed me among the countless thousands with five loaves of bread and two fish(Matthew 14:13-21). I was there at the Temple that day as He cleaned His Father’s house, chasing off the vipers that only looked to misuse the Lord(Matthew 21). I was there that night in Jerusalem as the arrested Him(John 18), and I sadly watched as the night turned to day as my good friend Peter three times denied knowing Him(Matthew 26). I was there, closing my eyes in pain as I heard the whip being raised so many times against Him(Matthew 27). I was there, standing with the crowd as they cried out to crucify Him(Matthew 27). I was there, watching in horror and pain as they placed the cross on His shoulder(Matthew 27). I was there, as I heard the hammer crushing the nails through His skin(Matthew 27). I was there, standing behind my old friend Mary, with my hand on her shoulder, as the last ounce of breath made its way from Him(Matthew 27). I was there as they sealed the stone after placing Him in that borrowed tomb(Matthew 27). I was there three days later as that tomb stood empty, and all of Jerusalem soon realized that He had risen(Matthew 28). And I was there, in that upper room on Pentecost, as the Spirit first fell on mankind again(Acts 2).”

Opis continued. “Through it all, Rufus, I was there. My name may never appear in the records, but I know He has my name perfectly recorded. You see, Rufus, my journey did not end as we left that small house in Bethlehem, that is where the Lord brought me so my journey could begin. And I know that one day soon, I will take a final step on my journey, as this now old family friend will once again bow at the feet of that Child.”

With final words, Opis spoke once again. “On that first day you asked if I knew Jesus? My son, I knew Him His whole life. And even more important, He eternally knows me.”

This Christmas, I pray that like Opis, your journey will only begin with His star.


369 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


コメント機能がオフになっています。
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page