top of page
  • Dr, Mike Murphy

THE STAR(PART THREE)....The Glory Of A Suffering King





As Opis arrived at the market place the next day, he could see Rufus at a distance, already waiting for him. And as he made his way to the market steps, he could all but see the face of Rufus light up, as he knew how anxious Rufus was to hear more.

“So good to see you again today, my son!”, Opis offered as he arrived. “I thought today, I would tell you about a day on the trip that I still remember as if it was yesterday. Each day of the journey was trying and challenging, a trip not made easy by the harshness of the land we travelled over. Days where we would travel for miles and not see a single other person, seeing only the barren land itself. This was all so new to me, a young man who had never travelled far from his hometown of Ctesiphon, each day bringing something different to my eyes. Soon the days began to run together, and time began to draw on forever. But each day, as I watched my master, Balthazar, look into the sky at that unseen star, I could not help but think about the words he had spoken to me as our journey began. Words that told me who this Promised King would be, but words that still left me so confused as I thought of how Balthazar had referred to this King as a Lamb.”

As Opis spoke, you could watch as Rufus listened with the greatest of attention. “It was about halfway through our journey that I approached Balthazar as we travelled that day, asking if he could help me to understand more. I could not for the life of me understand why the Lord would come to the earth in this way, offering Himself as a sacrifice instead of just forcing His will on all mankind. But no sooner had the words left my lips that the smile came to Balthazar’s face. He put his arm around me, pulled me to the side, and began to explain all this to me.”

I still remember well the words he spoke in response to me. “My son, centuries ago as sin entered this world in the Garden of Eden(Genesis 3:15), God promised the birth of His Son. As sin created a tear in the relationship between the Lord and man, a payment was needed, a sacrifice would need to be made, and a Savior was promised to be sent who would repair that tear, and to make right again the relationship between God and man. On that day, the Lord put forth His plan that would bring about the birth, the ministry, the death, and the coming resurrection of the only One who was perfectly capable of mending that tear, the only One just and righteous enough to be that sacrifice.”

Baltazar continued. “Year ago, the prophet Isaiah so powerfully foretold of this One who would come, fulfilling the role of the Promised Messiah, a worthy King who would make Himself into the suffering servant. A Redeemer, who would come to this world so we could all perfectly know the fullness of the Lord’s love for us. Of this One, Isaiah told us, ‘For He grew up before Him like a tender shoot, and like a root out of parched ground; He has no stately form or majesty that we should look upon Him, nor appearance that we should be attracted to Him.’(Isaiah 53:2). It will not be His signet ring or royal robes that will draw people to Him, but the promise of hope that only He will offer that will cause this world to flood to His feet.”

Balthazar then made it known. “But despite the love and hope He will bring, this world will despise Him and men will reject Him(Isaiah 53:3). He will carry the grief and sorrows of this world on His shoulders, as men will beat Him and afflict Him. And as they do, He will be pierced for our transgressions, crushed for our sin. But upon all He will endure for you and me, peace will be restored, and through His wounds we will be healed. Like a lamb, He will be led to the slaughter, as He gives His life so that each of us might eternally live(Isaiah 53:4-9)”.

Balthazar then went on to say. “With His humble birth, the Lord was born into the meekness of one of us. A King who will not be separated by palace gates and guards, but will be approachable and accessible to all mankind. A truly worthy King whose path will not be paved in gold, but will be covered in thorns(Proverbs 22:5). And as He does, the words of the Lord will no longer just be written on pieces of paper, as we hold this promise that this King will forever write each of those words on our minds and hearts(Deuteronomy 30:14). With each step we take, my son, we get a little closer to falling at the feet of the One True King. Humbling offering our all for Him, as He has come to give His life for us.”

After a brief pause, Rufus began to ask. “Opis, did you truly understand all he was saying to you?” And with a pause, Opis quickly began to answer. “I understood very little, but in the depths of my soul, I knew how important it was for me to remember and to take to heart each word. And for the first time that journey was not just a chore, or a job I was obligated to. This journey was a reward, one I knew I had the greatest of privilege to now find myself on.”

As Opis saw the day drawing late, he looked again at Rufus. “I tell you what, if you desire, I will meet you again here tomorrow, and will tell you what it was like as we arrived at Jerusalem.”

I hope and pray you will join us as we next look at all that was awaiting the Magi at Jerusalem's gates.


357 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page