top of page
  • Dr, Mike Murphy

The Letters(Part Six).....The End Of The Beginning





I am so late getting to write to you tonight, my brothers. I find myself with paper in hand as the dawn approaches faster than the dusk exits. The chaos and confusion of this day is unlike anything I have ever seen. What I thought would be a second straight peaceful day, has brought to me all but peace.

I spent the day with our cousin, Reuben, here in Bethany. Helping the family prepare for the Passover meal tomorrow, as they have graciously asked me to observe the day with them. With the city so full, because of the Feasts, I watched as many prepared for Passover. And as countless have gathered to be in Jerusalem from all of Israel, I watched as many of the Galilean Jews, who honor the day this day because they see Passover as being from sunrise to sunrise, prepare for the meal this night. And then I watched as all of us who are Judean Jews, prepare for the meal tomorrow, as we honor Passover from sunset to sunset(Jewish Mishnah, and writings of Josephus). I also watched as many prepare for the Temple events that tomorrow will hold, as the lamb will be sacrificed in the evening hours. So much commotion around me, but there was a peace that had settled in me.

As dusk had turned to dark, and night had come to settle in, I could hear the Passover meal being celebrated from the houses of some, and the quietness that came from the houses of others, as they prepared for Passover to be celebrated tomorrow evening, right before the dusk. With each sound, I soon found myself in prayer, asking the Lord to build on this relationship we now had. I could not tell you how long I had been praying, when suddenly I heard another loud commotion overtake this town. And as I looked out the window and onto the street, I could see a couple of Jesus’ disciples moving in a panic.

I rushed out to see if I could help them, as I have become a familiar face to Andrew, and to a couple others among them. As I heard their words, I could not believe my ears. And as myself and many of the followers of Jesus gathered, they began to hear all explained that had been witnessed this day. One of the disciples, named James, rushed back to meet with some of the other followers, and began to tell us all he had witnessed.

They said it all started this night, as Jesus gathered all of them to Him. As they got ready for the meal, they said Jesus washed each of their feet(John 13:1-20), telling them that He knew His hour to depart from this world was now at hand(John 13:1). James said that He had washed their feet to show them the humbleness that was required in order to serve Him. Letting them know that they should not be afraid to take a first step in love, as love is always willing to serve.

That evening, as He had observed the Passover Seder with them(as Jesus was a Galilean Jew, as well as the disciples), He told them that one of them would betray Him(Mark 14:18). He told them that it would be the one who would dip with Him from the bowl(John 14:20). James said as they watched Judas, one of the twelve disciple dip from the bowl, they knew it was him(Matthew 26:25), but did not understand what all this meant.

James told us that Jesus then broke bread, and handed it to each of them, telling them to eat, because this was His body(Mark 14:22). And as they took the piece of the unleavened bread, they realized He was uniting them together within His sinless being, bringing each together as one in Him. James said He then took the cup and gave thanks to the Lord, passing the cup for all to drink from it(Mark 14:23), and saying to them, ““Drink from it, all of you; for this is My blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for forgiveness of sins.”(Matthew 26:27-28). James said that as they drank, the words of Jeremiah came rushing back to them(Jeremiah 31:31-34). Words that promised the Lord would make a new covenant with man, where sin would be remembered no more. James said that as the meal finished, Jesus told them, “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another.”(John 13:34).

As they finished the Passover Seder, they left out of Jerusalem and headed back to the Mount of Olives(Mark 14:26). As they made their way, Jesus told them that all eleven of the remaining disciples would soon abandon Him, and as He was soon to be struck down, they would all scatter(Mark 14:26-27). He then told them again that He would rise from the dead, and they would all reunite in Galilee(Mark 14:28). James said that this had greatly disturbed all of them, and they denied they would abandon Him. But He told them that before the coming dawn, this would all happen(Mark 14:29-31).

James then told us that they went to the Garden of Gethsemane, and Jesus told all to sit still, while He went to pray(Mark 14:32-36). As He went off, James said Jesus called him and two of the other disciples with Him, to stand watch while He prayed. James said he could see the weight that all this had on Him, and as Jesus went to pray alone, they sat waiting. James said that a short while later, Jesus came and woke them. Then two more times this very night, He continued to do the same(Mark 14:37-42). He told us that the third time that Jesus returned and woke them, He told them that the time of His betrayal was about to take place.

At that very moment, James said that Temple guards and Roman soldiers appeared with Judas(Mark 14:43-52). And they watched as Judas approached Jesus, and kissed Him on the cheek. On seeing this, James said the Temple guards seized Him and arrested Him. In the commotion, one of the disciples raised his sword and cut off the ear of one of those who had come to arrest Jesus. But before this got out of hand, James said Jesus commanded all to stop, and touched the ear of this man and immediately healed him. James said that as all the disciples saw this, panic came over them, and they all scattered and fled however they could. James found his way back to Bethany, back to the moment where I had heard the disturbance as he arrived back in this town.

None of us now know what has happened with Jesus, just that they were taking him away, back to Jerusalem. We also do not know what has happened with the other disciples, as James said all ran in fear, in every direction. I tell you, my brothers, I could have never imagined or envisioned this night, and I do not now know what this coming day will soon hold. But I have to believe that the Lord God has a plan, a plan for tomorrow that is greater than all my fears are this night. Could this be the moment where Jesus makes it known to all that He is truly the Messiah, breaking the chains they placed on Him? Could this be the moment where He brings all of Israel to its knees before Him? Or could this be the moment that generations have waited for, as the Son of Man sets up His kingdom for all the world to see? I find myself now writing to you with far more questions than I have answers. All I know with certainty, is just how uncertain I now am. But through all my confusion, I somehow know in my heart that just as Jesus has revealed the truth to me, He will reveal to me, and the rest of this world, the greatness of His plans as the dawn rises.


Until that dawn, and until I can write to you tomorrow again, I ask if you would please join me in prayer, my brothers. As prayer is the only certainty, and the only peace, I know have and know.


Meshach

308 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page